
If you are pregnant and
feel that you can’t keep
your baby, don’t leave
the baby in a dangerous
situation. Help is
available.

Kentucky has a law
called the Safe
Infants Act that allows
parents (or someone
acting on their behalf)
to leave babies younger
than 3 days old at a
safe place. No one will
call the police, and no
one will ask for your
name.

If you leave your baby
in a safe place, the
baby will get medical
care and be placed with
a family for adoption.

A
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Kentucky Cabinet
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A copy of this material may be obtained from
the following Web site:

http://chfs.ky.gov/dcbs/dpp/KYSafeInfants.htm
Or call: (502) 564-2136

For more information
about the Safe Infants Act,

call (800) 752-6200.
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Where are
safe places?

In Kentucky, you may leave a newborn
baby with:

����� A hospital emergency room staff
person

����� An officer at a police station

����� A firefighter at a fire station or

����� An emergency medical services
(EMS) provider

What does the
law do?

The law saves babies – and protects
parents who can’t keep their babies.

The law says that a parent will not be
criminally prosecuted for abandoning a
baby (3 days old or younger), if the baby
is taken to a safe place and has not
been physically abused or neglected
after birth.

What happens at a
safe place?

A police officer, firefighter or an
EMS provider will arrange to have your
baby taken to the nearest hospital for an
examination and any needed medical
care. The hospital will also notify the
Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family
Services, the agency responsible for
ensuring the baby is adopted.

What can you do to
help your baby?

You can fill out a form to give medical
information about your baby. The
information will help make it easier to
provide medical care for the baby. You
can fill out the form when you leave the
baby at a safe place, or you can take
the form and return it by mail.

You do not have to put your name on
the form, and all the information you
provide will be confidential.

What are your rights
as a parent?

If you do not contact the Kentucky
Cabinet for Health and Family Services
within 30 days after leaving your baby in
a safe place, the cabinet will begin the
process of ending your parental rights.
This process, called involuntary
termination of parental rights, is
permanent, and means that the cabinet
will ask a judge to remove any rights
that you and the baby’s other parent
have to the baby. Once parental rights
have been ended, the cabinet can begin
to make arrangements for the baby’s
adoption.

If you decide that you want your baby
back within 30 days after leaving the
baby in a safe place,
or you need other information
about child permanency issues,
call (800) 752-6200.

Family
Services

If you decide to keep your baby, the
Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family
Services offers services that help
families stay together and safe:

����� Assistance for new and
 expectant parents

����� Counseling

����� Referrals to needed services
 such as housing assistance,
 parenting skills or counseling

����� Food stamps

����� Kentucky Transitional Assistance
 Program (K-TAP)

����� Medical cards

����� Kentucky Children’s Health
 Insurance Program (KCHIP)

����� Child care assistance

����� Help with getting child support

Consider
Adoption

Every child deserves a safe, loving,
permanent home. You can help provide
such a home by planning for adoption
before your baby is born.

You can work with the Kentucky Cabinet
for Health and Family Services, which
carefully evaluates and checks
backgrounds on all prospective parents
before they are approved to adopt
children. Or you can contact a private
agency about placing your baby for
adoption.


